Triangle 25mile Championship

The longest event of the Triangle season on the main course, the 25mile Championships, saw a warm, humid but largely calm night welcome 6 members and 1 guest. Heavier than expected traffic impeded some rides, but still some fast times were posted.

Fastest on the night was Matt Asquith, with a 1:00:18, and taking the men’s 25mile Championship in the process. The women’s trophy was taken by Helen Goldthorpe in 1:07:20.

Club President Tony Wild showed a marked step up on the big night, and in the handicap event recorded a scaled time of 54:03, over 7mins ahead of the next rider! He takes the handicap award.

Approaching half way through the season, Helen Goldthorpe leads the points competition, but it’s still close and all to play for.

Next week sees a return to the Hilly 14 event around Leathley/Beckwithshaw/Norwood. Note that the 15mile event in the calendar for 28th June has been cancelled.  If anyone can marshal future events, it would be appreciated to help them run. Sign up is here. Future events are listed here.

Full Results

Course 25 Mile Triangle Champs
Name OCC Rider/Guest Time H’Cap Time on Handicap Points
Matt Asquith OCC 01:00:18 -0:05:04 01:05:22 6
Tim Garwell OCC 01:03:40 0:01:52 01:01:48 9
Dan Webster Guest 01:04:07
Helen Goldthorpe OCC 01:07:20 0:03:59 01:03:21 7
Tom Broadley OCC 01:17:20 0:14:10 01:03:10 8
Tony Wild OCC 01:19:47 0:25:44 00:54:03 10
Steve Broadley OCC 01:28:45 0:19:19 01:09:26 5

Points Summary

Event Total
Helen Goldthorpe 38
Jon Hobbs 36
Tom Broadley 33
Liam Mealey 30
Tim Garwell 25
Martin Pollard 23
Sam Ward 21
Tony Wild 20
Matthew Asquith 17
Steve Broadley 16
Joshua Warriner 14
Matthew Peace 10
John Raftery 10
Tim Howcroft 9
Chris Yates 7
Ian Cullen 7
James Cullen 6
Claire Jessop 4
Martin Peace 4
John Buddle 2