The First Hilly

The first Hilly of the season saw a small turn out of 5 riders, all from OCC, taking on the tough punchy course around Leathley, Beckwithshaw and Norwood. Fortunately the threatened strong winds weren’t as bad as predicted, and a decent race was had.

Fastest on the night was Tim Howcroft with a 42:08 for the 14mile (22km) course. Fastest woman was Helen Goldthorpe in 45:04, and fastest on handicap was Liam Mealey.

It’s a return to the standard Triangle course next week, and then two laps of that course the week after for the 25mile Championship. If you’d like to be considered for the championship, please contact Liam Mealey (, or through Facebook) beforehand so handicaps can be sorted. On the day entry will be accepted, but will not be eligible for the TT championship.

Full details of upcoming events are here, and of future marshaling slots here.

Full Results

Course 14 Mile Hilly
Name OCC Rider/Guest Time H’Cap Time on Handicap Points
Tim Howcroft OCC 00:42:08 0:00:00 00:42:08 9
Liam Mealey OCC 00:43:59 0:02:03 00:41:56 10
Helen Goldthorpe OCC 00:45:04 0:02:31 00:42:33 8
Ian Cullen OCC 00:45:57 0:00:00 00:45:57 7
Tom Broadley OCC 00:55:51 0:08:09 00:47:42 6

Points Summary

Event Total
Jon Hobbs 36
Helen Goldthorpe 31
Liam Mealey 30
Tom Broadley 25
Martin Pollard 23
Sam Ward 21
Tim Garwell 16
Joshua Warriner 14
Matthew Asquith 11
Steve Broadley 11
Matthew Peace 10
John Raftery 10
Tony Wild 10
Tim Howcroft 9
Chris Yates 7
Ian Cullen 7
James Cullen 6
Claire Jessop 4
Martin Peace 4
John Buddle 2