Triangle 20. Welcoming the end of Summer.

With uncertainty over the Triangle course itself due to pop-up traffic lights, the last two 2018 Thursday evening TTs have been switched to the 15 mile course on the A168, the first of them Thursday 23rd August.

And that course certainly made itself felt, the nine riders – eight Otley and one guest – being subject to a very cold evening, not the type of evening we’ve all been used to this year.

Still, it didn’t stop Phil Mason taking the maximum 10 points, his highest score of 2018, resurgent Chris Yates taking the 9 points. Claire Jessop was the only woman riding, scoring 3 points.

Series leader Tom Broadley scored 8 points and with series second placed rider Stuart Newbould not riding, Tom’s score means he now can’t be caught even though there are still two points scoring rounds remaining, another 15 on Thursday 30th August and the 30 Champs Sunday 9th September.

Thank you to the timekeepers and helpers. Afterwards some convened to The Wharfedale and it was good to see one of our regular pushers-off Howard Scatchard there after his recent short spell in hospital.

Remember to get your entry for the 30 Champs to Sheldon at least a week before the event i.e. no later than Sunday 2nd September and also to reserve your place at the Triangle awards night Tuesday 11th September.

Points qualifying rides (points in brackets)

Sam Ward 34:39 (5)

Tim Garwell 37:28 (4)

Chris Yates (9) 37:37

Phil Mason 40:35 (10)

Tom Broadley 41:39 (8)

Claire Jessop 42:48 (3)

Tony Wild 43:52 (6)

Sheldon Howcroft 45:33 (7)

The only non-qualifying ride was by Adam Grice in 42:10.

Points standings after round 20

Tom Broadley 121

Stuart Newbould 98

Tim Garwell 76.5

Tony Wild 58

Jonathan Hobbs 54

Sam Ward 49

Steve Broadley 45

Sheldon Howcroft 43

Helen Goldthorpe 42.5

Chris Yates 39

John Buddle 37

James Cullen 36

Gill Arnett 33

Claire Jessop 33

Liam Mealey 33

Martin Tallontire 32

Liz Hills 31

Christine Bell 30.5

Joe Howcroft 25

Ben Ritz 21

Ian Cullen 17.5

John Barnett 17

Rachel Crowther 17

Tim Howcroft 14

Greg Jessop 14

Phil Mason 12

Christine Thwaite 11

Megan Cullen 10

Chris Radcliffe 10

Tom Wallace 9

Robbie Pollard 8

Steve Moncur 7

Sam Howcroft 4

Stuart Hall 3

Tony Bulmer 1


26th August 2018