Triangle 19. Return of the Triangle Nemesis

It should have been Triangle 19 (a 15 on the A168) and 20 (a 12 1/2) but temporary traffic lights decided to put in an appearance on the Triangle course itself so the Thursday 16th August event was cancelled. And just to make doubly sure we couldn’t even run a shortened version there were two sets during the week, one at Arthington, one at Huby. The bounders.

A picture of temporary traffic lights just in case you’re not sure what they look like. Not the actual culprits, wouldn’t give them the publicity

Fortunately, a total of 11 riders managed to get in a ride two days before on Tuesday 14th in the 15 mile TT. 10 from the club plus one guest meant also that all Otley riders picked up points.

Choose your own caption Tony?

On a night which wasn’t too warm but in which the wind didn’t seem to know which way to blow, maximum points and fastest ride overall went to Joe Howcroft who recorded 36:37. Fastest woman was Claire Jessop in 41:49, scoring 6 points.

Top two in the points table, Tom Broadley and Stuart Newbould, collected 9 and 8 points respectively. Third on points Tim Garwell unshipped his chain, this after the fatal mistake of fitting a new chainring the night before the race.

Thank you to timekeepers and all helpers.

Points qualifying rides (points in brackets)

Joe Howcroft 36:37 (10)

Tim Garwell 38:38 (4)

Stuart Newbould 39:30 (8)

Phil Mason 40:37 (1)

Tom Broadley 40:51 (9)

Claire Jessop 41:49 (6)

Helen Goldthorpe 42:40 (2)

Gill Arnett 43:26 (7)

Tony Wild 43:53 (5)

Sheldon Howcroft 46:10 (3)

The only non-qualifying ride was by Max Vesty in 37:23.

Are aerodynamic aids allowed Mr Organiser?

Points standings after round 19

Tom Broadley 113

Stuart Newbould 98

Tim Garwell 72.5

Jonathan Hobbs 54

Tony Wild 52

Steve Broadley 45

Sam Ward 44

Helen Goldthorpe 42.5

John Buddle 37

James Cullen 36

Sheldon Howcroft 36

Gill Arnett 33

Liam Mealey 33

Martin Tallontire 32

Liz Hills 31

Christine Bell 30.5

Claire Jessop 30

Chris Yates 30

Joe Howcroft 25

Ben Ritz 21

Ian Cullen 17.5

John Barnett 17

Rachel Crowther 17

Tim Howcroft 14

Greg Jessop 14

Christine Thwaite 11

Megan Cullen 10

Chris Radcliffe 10

Tom Wallace 9

Robbie Pollard 8

Steve Moncur 7

Sam Howcroft 4

Stuart Hall 3

Phil Mason 2

Tony Bulmer 1

STOP PRESS: Due to the uncertainty about the Pool Triangle course itself because of the temporary traffic lights it’s been decided to hold the last two Thursday evening events – 23rd & 30th August – on the 15 mile course near Boroughbridge, using the A168.

Points will still be awarded and Sheldon Howcroft will calculate handicaps to allow for the extra distance.

Start is at 7.00 p.m.


Also, please remember to give your name to Sheldon for the awards night on Tuesday 11th September at The Wharfedale.


20th August 2018