Annual Awards Dinner 2018

Our new President, Liz Hills, had a hard act to follow at the recent Awards dinner but rose to the occasion splendidly, hosting another very enjoyable evening. In her speech Liz said “If I had to describe Otley in two words it would be ‘broad and diverse’- unlike some local and national clubs we really have something for everyone and this year we’ve seen more types of activity emerging and more people trying new things. We continued to offer a wide selection of Club Runs – with an increase in people trying different sections, thanks in part to the increased visibility of the rides and riders on social media.
We’ve seen the emergence of new types of Club Runs – Mountain Goats, Mountain Biking, ‘Inbetween Half day Social Rides’ and the midweek Winter Fitness rides – it’s great to see people gaining confidence with route planning and ride leading.
When it comes to racing, to summarise I’d say that Otley has been fabulously represented across a wide range of disciplines, locally, regionally and nationally. It’s been fantastic to see the results each week (inc. many Otley blue shirts on the podiums) and I would dearly love to name check everyone who’s raced in Otley colours as we are so proud of all your achievements.
Thanks to the volunteers who came forward to deliver ALL these activities, and thanks of course to all the Volunteers in ALL areas of the club – as a club we are literally NOTHING without you all.”
Once again, Rachel Crowther and Christine Bell, orchestrated another seamless presentation of the awards.

The first of the awards was for Best All Rounder which this year featured Phil Mason and Claire Jessop.
The Young People’s Awards are based on achievements both within the club and in regional/national competitions and it is gratifying to see so many youngsters gaining their awards. This year the Harry Buckley Award was won by Amy Hodgkins.

The Sunday Club Runs points Competition is open to all members who take part in the club runs and Paul Agar maintained his hold on the A section trophy. After a break for the excellent food that we have come to expect at Otley Golf Club we resumed with the time trialling awards The fast and furious, and endurance awards ranged from 10 miles to 24hours but all seem equally painful to those of us who can only watch and wonder! The points mean prizes category showed the diversity of our young riders as they gained points in all aspects of racing including track, road and cyclocross.

In a spontaneous moment Tom Cullen gave us a brief glimpse of life in the OCC racing team.
The Otley and Beyond category celebrated Martin Tallontire clocking up an impressive 2325miles including the epic London/Edinburgh/London Audax.

It was also the inaugural presentation of the Nicole Mann Grand Tour Award which was presented by Andrew Richards, Nicole’s partner,to Steve Morris.

After celebrating the Mountain Goats Challenge and the Testing Triangle it was time for the last presentation of the evening which was the Club Person of the Year, John Barnett for the second year running.

Thank you to club member Shaun Walby for taking the fabulous photos and to everyonewho helped put on this evening celebrating everything that is good at Otley Cycle Club.

The full list of awards follows:
Phil Mason – Senior Best All Rounder, 50 Mile Time Trial Championship (Arnold Sowden Memorial Trophy), 12 Hour Time Trial Championship (Challenge Trophy), Sunday Club Run A Section, Time Trial Championship

Helen Goldthorpe – Beryl Burton 25 Mile TT Championship Women, 50 Mile Time Trial Championship Women, 50 Mile Time Trial Handicap, Lizzie Armitstead Time Trial Championship, Triangle Fastest Woman

Claire Jessop – Womens BAR Trophy, Veterans BAR Trophy, Joyce Webb 10 Mile TT Championship Women, 30 Mile Time Trial Championship Women (Howcroft Cup)

Eleanor Hunt – The Queen of the Mountains Hill Climb Championship Trophy, Track Champion, PH-MAS Road Racing Cycling Points Trophy

Tim Howcroft – 10 Mile Time Trial Championship Trophy, 30 Mile Time Trial Handicap (Chevin Rose Bowl)

Megan Cullen – 10 Mile Time Trial Handicap Under 16, PH-MAS 10 Mile TT

Dexter Leeming-Sykes – British Cycling Road Racing Points Boys, Cyclo Cross Champion

Sam Ward – 25 Mile Time Trial Championship, Triangle Fastest Man

John Churchman – 10 Mile Time Trial Handicap
James Wordsworth – 10 Mile Time Trial Championship Under 16

Steve Broadley – 25 Mile Time Trial Handicap (Wolstenholme Trophy)

Jon Sharpe – 30 Mile Time Trial Championship (Ian Walsh Trophy)

James Wordsworth – Hillclimb Championship (Hillclimb Tankard)

Tom Broadley – Triangle Points Championship (OCC Trophy)

Jonathan Hobbs – Triangle Fastest Veteran on Age Standard (Gold Medal)
Jack Coates – Road Race Champion (Trophy du Coureur)

Paul Agar – Sunday Club Run Overall (Ian Oliver trophy)
Alison Baxter – Sunday Club Run Intermediate Section
Ken Hodgson – Sunday Club Run B Section
Steven Moncur – Otley Cycle Club Ride Team Volunteer Award
Martin Tallontire – True Cycling Sporting Miles
Gill Arnett – Billie Fleming Sporting Miles
Stephen Morris – Nicole Mann Grand Tour Award
John Barnett – Club Person of the Year (Austin Memorial Shield)
Amy Hodgkins – Harry Buckley Award
Mini Flyers Bronze Award – James Luxton, Lilly Cullen, Jacob Peacock
Mini Flyers Silver Award – Annie Chambers, Charlotte Chambers, Amber Peacock

Mini Flyers Gold Award – Emily Middlebrooke, Daniel Middlebrooke, Isobel Wilks, Poppy Peacock, Amy Hodgkins, Isla Aylward, Alex Hodgkins, Ruaridh Aylward, Jack Wilks

Flyers Bronze Award – Luke O’Connell, Ruari Waterworth, Dillan Lions, Matthew Ellmore ,Lucy Ellmore, Robbie Strathdee , James Vietch, Jonathan Allen

Flyers Silver Award – Tom Cullen, Robbie Pollard, Harry Hunt, Megan Cullen, James Allen, Sam Howcroft, Will Brown
Flyers Gold Award – James Coates, Dexter Leeming-Sykes, Eleanor Hunt, George Radcliffe, Jack Coates, James Wordsworth

Download a copy of the programme here, for more details of the awards