Otley Time Trialling. A record broken, a record equalled, a long milestone and a short, hard ride

Claire Jessop has been enjoying something of a purple patch – that’s in cycling, not writing – recently, equalling a club record, then setting a new one a few days later which was effectively 2 in 1.

Team Swift held three consecutive 10-mile TTs on the V718 course on Sunday 27th August, one for men faster than 21:00 last three seasons, one for men slower that 22:00 last three seasons (LTS) and one for women, juniors, overflow men and invitation, Otley CC members riding the latter two events. Claire recorded a PB by 2 seconds with a 23:17. That equalled Helen Goldthorpe’s 10 record set 4th May 2016 in the Drighlington 10 on the same course. Fastest overall in that event was Junior rider Jacob Aries of Primera-Teamjobs in 19:13 with Rachel Elliot of DRAG2ZERO fastest Woman with 19:40. Results from the CTT website.

In the men’s slower that 22:00 event, Steve Broadley recorded 23:04, Greg Jessop 24:03 and John Churchman 25:26. Results from the CTT website.

Fastest overall time on the day was 16:58 by James Gullen of JLT Condor at an average speed of 35.328 mph!

The following Saturday 2nd September, Claire and Greg ventured south as Claire was riding the Team Velovelocity 25-mile TT in the E2/25 course near Newmarket.

Claire’s morning preparation for her ride consisted of a hot air balloon trip with her mum and Greg – see photographs courtesy of Greg – but it must have worked as Claire turned in a record breaking ride.

Claire’s time of 59:56 not only set a new Women’s Club 25 record, taking 2 minutes 16 seconds off the 25 record Helen set 13th May, but it was the first under the hour ride by an Otley CC woman. Chapeau Claire!

See here for the current list of club records.

Full results still to be published. Photographs courtesy of Greg.

There it is in black and white!

A celebratory coffee

Back up north, Steve Broadley and John Churchman were also riding the same weekend along with 2017 Triangle Series points Champion Tom Broadley in a mixture of a 10 and two 25’s.

Steve rode the V718 again in the VTTA 10 on Saturday 2nd September. He was over half a minute faster than the previous week with a PB of 22.31. Full results still to be published. 

Steve and son Tom rode again the next day, Sunday 3rd, in the Cleveland Coureurs 25 on the T252/3 course based at Crathorne. The event incorporated the VTTA (North) Teeside District Championship 25-mile TT. Steven reckoned it was a “…big mistake with a massive headwind” but still managed a 1:05:21. Tom was just over 2 minutes behind with 1:07:23. There’s a pattern forming here Tom ahead of the 2018 season…

John Churchman keeps the flag flying for the elder statesmen in the club, riding the Seacroft Wheelers 25 the same day and clocking up a fantastic milestone. John reports:

“I did 1:16:34 on a cold hard morning on a course from Dishforth on the A168 to Walshford roundabout and back. Horrific to the turn but great back.That is the end of my 60th season. My first time trial was in 1958 – must remember to buy a round in June next year”.

It’s there in black and white now John, no backing out!

Results for both 25’s still to be published.

Well, it’s that eyeballs out, lungs bursting time of year for time trialling. Yes, the hill climb season is upon us and our main protagonist of the discipline Andrew Bolton has started his campaign.

Andrew has entered 10 hill climbs so far, his ultimate aim to be a ride for a second year in the Nationals. The first 2017 event was the Buxton CC event also on Sunday 3rd September. Unusually long for a hill climb, the J9/13 Long Hill course covers 4.4 miles using the A5004 near Whaley Bridge in Derbyshire. Andrew finished in 20:17.5 on what organiser Sam Clarke described as “…a tough day with a strong headwind making for slower times than usual”.

Dan Evans of Assos Equipe UK, 2014 National Hill Climb Champion, was the winner in 13:31.1. (The course record is held by former Otley CC member, several times Otley open hill climb winner and 2013 National Hill Climb Champion Tejvan Pettinger in 12 minutes 16 seconds at 21.7 mph!) Full results from the CTT website.