Triangle 23. The Finale

The last Triangle Series event of 2017 was, thankfully, met with great weather and clear roads. Or is that clear weather and great roads?

Tom Broadley, 2018 Triangle Series Points Champion

Although first and second place overall had already been decided the previous week with Tom Broadley victorious over dad Steve there was still the third step on the podium to be decided. In the end it came down to a few seconds…

Going into the finale, Stuart Newbould in third place held half a point lead over John Churchman who had lately been having a points scoring bonanza. All that was needed was one of them to secure a one point margin on the night to decide who would be third. And indeed, that is exactly what happened.

The 6 points went to Steve Broadley, Tom scoring none – no doubt Steve took some consolation from pointing that out to Tom! – reducing the final points margin between them to 3. John Buddle took 5, Sheldon Howcroft 4 and Tony Wild 3.

Jon Sharpe scored points for the second week in succession, his 2 lifting him off the bottom of the table. And that final, important single point went to Stuart Newbould to secure him third place by 1.5 points, John Churchman missing out in by just four seconds. John’s certainly going to have to improve his sprinting-for-the-line technique for the 2018 season. Fastest time on the night was by Sam Ward.

Points qualifying rides (points in brackets).

Sam Ward 29:37

Jon Sharpe 30:53 (2)

James Cullen 32:22

John Buddle 33:13 (5)

Steve Broadley 33:17 (6)

Stuart Newbould 33:29 (1)

Tom Broadley 35:09

Tony Wild 36:08 (3)

Sheldon Howcroft 36:34 (4)

John Churchman 39:20

Tim Garwell was the only non-qualifying rider with a time of 31:01.

Final points standings

Tom Broadley 51

Steve Broadley 48

Stewart Newbould 31.5

John Churchman 30

Tony Wild 23

James Cullen 22

Sheldon Howcroft 18.5

Jonathan Hobbs 18

Tim Howcroft 16

Greg Jessop 16

John Buddle 14

Phil Mason 13

Sam Ward 13

Ian Cullen 12

Helen Goldthorpe 12

Trevor Hatib 12

Claire Jessop 12

Tony Bulmer 8

Liz Hills 7

John Barnett 6

Christine Bell 6

Richard Horgan 6

Dylan Lyons 6

Liam Mealey 6

Christine Thwaite 6

James Allen 5

Gill Arnett 5

Paul Luxton 5

Michael Kitchen 5

Jon Sharpe 5

Andrew Bolton 3

Thank you

And a final thank you to Joyce, Keith, Cliff and Geoff for timekeeping, to Brian, Howard and Peter for pushing-off, and to all helpers and marshals. Last but by no means least, thank you to Sheldon for once again organising a superb series of events. See you all again in 2018 hopefully!

Steve was going so fast he was just a blur!

Wrong way Claire!

A thank you to Joyce and Keith for their timekeeping