Triangle 13. Lucky for some.

Triangle Time Trial Series 2017

It may have been the 13th Triangle event of the season but luck was on our side Thursday 6th July with the threat of thunderstorms subsiding and some riders experiencing a little more luck of their own (although some hard work comes into it too!)

A warm and close night for those riding with a slight headwind on the stretch down to Pool. Tim Howcroft, who bizarrely seems to benefiting from son Sam’s unfortunate injury to his wrist, scored the maximum 6 points, although his delight in taking the perpetual Cullen vs Howcroft duel on the night appeared to please him just as much. Putting much of his success down to his newly fitted yellow pedals, Trevor Hatib returned to the Triangle after an almost 2-month absence to record both a PB and his first points, taking the 5.

Trevor’s record breaking and point scoring pedals

Stuart Newbould, minus red leg warmers this week, scored 4 points, consistent Jonathan Hobbs took 3, with recent Otley CC recruit Richard Horgan taking his first points with 2. Again returning to the Triangle after a break, Paul Luxton also recorded a PB whilst scoring the final point on offer. Note too the absence of The Broadley Boys, allowing Stuart to go into joint second place in the points standings with Tom – see below.

Fastest Otley rider was Sam Ward with 28:35. Fastest and only woman riding was Claire Jessop in 34:52. A special mention too to Triangle debutant  and Otley CC Junior Ben Kettleborough who recorded an excellent 30:54. Fastest overall time of the night was by Simon Beldon (SSLL Racing Team) in 26:17.

Points qualifying rides (points in brackets)

Sam Ward 28:35

Jonathan Hobbs 29:51 (3)

Tim Howcroft 30:34 (6)

Ian Cullen 31:29

Stuart Newbould 32:28 (4)

Richard Horgan 32:56 (2)

Paul Luxton 34:39 (1)

Claire Jessop 34:52

Greg Jessop 34:54

John Barnett 35:24

Sheldon Howcroft 36:04

Trevor Hatib 37:16 (5)

Tony Bulmer 38:47

Non-qualifying rides

Simon Beldon 26:17

Joe Howcroft 29:17

Adrian Jones 30:17

Danny Thompson 30:54

Derek White 32:18

John Hallas 34:21

Tim Garwell DNF

Points standings after Round 13

Steve Broadley 27

Tom Broadley 24

Stuart Newbould 24

Tony Wild 20

Sheldon Howcroft 13

Phil Mason 13

Helen Goldthorpe 12

Jonathan Hobbs 12

Tim Howcroft 12

Sam Ward 12

Greg Jessop 9

James Cullen 7

Liz Hills 7

John Barnett 6

Christine Bell 6

Ian Cullen 6

Dylan Lyons 6

Liam Mealey 6

Christine Thwaite 6

Gill Arnett 5

John Churchman 5

Trevor Hatib 5

Claire Jessop 5

Paul Luxton 5

James Allen 4

John Buddle 4

Michael Kitchen 4

Rauri Waterworth 4

Andrew Bolton 3

Richard Horgan 2

Thank you to the timekeepers, helpers and marshals. Don’t forget, The Triangle Needs You!

Don’t forget, the next Triangle Series event is the Hilly 14-mile Championships on Thursday 13th July out near Farnley. If you haven’t entered in advance you can still ride but you won’t be eligible for points or for the Championships.