The Short, the Medium, the Longer – and the Very Short

Covering distances at 10 miles (the Short), 25 miles (the Medium), 50 miles (the Longer) and 4.8 miles (the Very Short, although it must be said not only was it Very Short, it was Very Up too), Otley CC riders have been showing their TT prowess again over the last few days.

On Saturday 24th June, Helen Goldthorpe and Rauri Waterworth headed east to the windy Yorkshire Wolds to ride the Bridlington CC 10, incorporating the Yorkshire District National Youth Championship, Rauri competing in the latter, on the sporting V415 course near Grindale.

Helen recorded 28:40 in the open event, won by Pete Nixon of Seacroft Wheelers in 22:11, Fiona Sharp of York Cycleworks fastest woman in 25:34.

In the Youth Championship, Rauri recorded 25:40. Cavan Walker (Prologue Race Tean) was fastest in 21:40.

Reports on the open event and on the Youth Championship from the CTT website

The same day, Claire Jessop was much further south in Suffolk, near Newmarket in fact, riding the API-Metrow 25 on the E2/25 course, the event dedicated to Zak Carr, a former multiple national champion and tandem Paralympic tandem pilot. Claire, riding in what husband Greg described as the headwind from Hell, rode to a 1:05:41. The event was won by James Rox of Crawley Wheelers in 49:34, the only ride under 50 minutes. Susan Triplow (Essex Roads CC) was fastest woman with 59.18. Full results on CTT website. Report courtesy of CTT/Snowdon Sports.

Photograph courtesy of Greg Jessop.

The following day the National 50-mile Championships took place on the T252/03 course on the A19 close to Crathorne in North Yorkshire. Otley CC was represented in the mens event by James Cullen. James recorded 2:04:51, Daniel Bingham of Brother NRG Wattshop crowned as champion with a 1:36:23 ride. Drag2Zero rider Kate Allen took the Women’s championship with a ride of 1:52:11. Mens results & report and women’s results & report (both reports courtesy of CTT/Snowdon Sports) from the CTT website.

On Tuesday 27th June Otley riders put on their climbing gear to tackle the 4.8 mile – or 4.812 to be pedantic – V9916 Cragg Vale hill climb at Mytholmroyd, promoted by Yorkshire Cycling Federation.

Always a popular event with Otley riders, seven were on the start sheet but unfortunately only five rode as Helen Goldthorpe’s and Liam Mealey’s transport broke down on the way to the event, leaving them stranded on the motorway near Hartshead Moor Services.

As for the 2016 event, the weather was a little damp, although not as bad this year. A slight tailwind helped riders up the last section into the mist near the finish and times were mostly faster than last year.

Claire Jessop was again our fastest rider – and winner of the award for second fastest woman – in 21:09.9. Next Otley rider, the only one to ride a TT bike, was Andrew Bolton in 21:47.0, followed in overall results sequence by Greg Jessop (21:48.7) and John Barnett (22:19.3). Liz Hills, who sensibly took her car to the top of the climb before the event started, recorded 26:26.5.

The overall winner was course record holder Andy Cunningham of All Terrain Cycles in 15:00.4, almost a minute shy of his October 2016 record of 14:07.7. Women’s course record holder Charlotte Gorman (Team Lusso), who also set her record of 18:02.5 in October 2016, then riding for Bury Clarion, was fastest woman in 18:56.3. Full results from the CTT website.

Although Helen couldn’t ride she stays in first place in the 2017 YCF SpoCo competition with 5,580 points ahead of 2nd placed Sarah Lewthwaite (East Bradford CC) on 4,469 and Claire Jessop in 3rd with 4,459. In the 2017 YCF Points competition, Liz Hills remains in 6th place with 342 points.

Photograph of Liz Hills courtesy of Stephen Lloyd.

Go Liz!

Claire is presented with women’s second place award by event organiser, timekeeper and man of many talents Phil Hurt