Triangle 4 – don’t mention the lights…

Triangle Time Trial Series 2017

Recent inclement weather and contradicting forecasts had members wondering what conditions really would be like Thursday 18th May on the Triangle. As it was, it was a very calm night, perhaps a little chilly, but certainly a night that might produce some fast times and hopefully some PBs.

Fast times certainly, but no PBs could be recorded as something that shall remain nameless conspired once again to alter things. See if you can guess what it was…

Unable to complete the whole course because of the umentionables, riders finished just outside Pool Village Memorial Hall, reducing the distance to approximately 12 miles.

Isn’t that cheating? Call the UCI!

Fastest Otley rider on the night was Jon Sharpe with 28:42. Jon was able to ride to the usual finish without being required to stop by the hazard and, using his Garmin, reckoned that if the course hadn’t been cut short he’d have recorded under 30 minutes, illustrating what a fast night it was so early in the season. Claire Jessop was fastest woman with 32:19. Fastest overall was Fraser Rounds with 25:52.

Ian Cullen, last man off due to arriving late after being delayed because of a problem on the roads near home, took the maximum 6 points followed by Greg Jessop with 5, Gill Arnett 4, Phil Mason 3 and James Allen 2, all but Phil scoring their first 2017 points. Steve Broadley, 2016 Triangle Points Champion, took the last remaining point to give him joint lead wth Phil this season.

Points qualifying rides (points in brackets, corrected from original calculations)

Jon Sharpe 28:42

Ian Cullen 29:30 (6)

James Cullen 29:54

Jonathan Hobbs 30:05

Ruaridh Waterworth 30:32

Liam Mealey 31:02

Phil Mason 31:07 (3)

Claire Jessop 32:19

John Buddle 32:25

Andrew Bolton 32:40

Greg Jessop 34:07 (5)

James Allen 34:13 (2)

Stuart Newbould 34:46

Tony Wild 35:12

Gill Arnett 35:29 (4)

Tom Broadley 35:33

Sheldon Howcroft 36:50

Steve Broadley 37:16 (1)

John Churchman 38:32

Non-qualifying rides

Fraser Rounds 25:52

Adam Robinson 26:43

Richmond Denton 28:28

Neil Buckley 28:38

Tim Garwell 30:10

Levi Wilman 36:00

As always, thanks goes to the timekeepers and helpers. Have you put your name down on the marshalling roster?

Points standings (after 4 rounds)

Steve Broadley 7

Phil Mason 7

Christine Bell 6

Ian Cullen 6

Sam Ward 6

Tony Wild 6

John Churchman 5

Helen Goldthorpe 5

Jonathan Hobbs 5

Greg Jessop 5

Gill Arnett 4

Liz Hills 4

Andrew Bolton 3

Claire Jessop 3

Paul Luxton 3

Stuart Newbould 3

James Allen 2

Tom Broadley 2

Liam Mealey 2

The next Triangle Series event is Tuesday 23rd May, on the A168 near Boroughbridge, start time 7.30 pm. It consists of a 10-mile TT, with riders having the option to continue after the 10-mile finish to complete a 15-mile TT. Please note that points will only be awarded for the 15. No points will be awarded for the 10.

Photographs in Pool courtesy of Stephen Lloyd. Apologies for the poor quality of the photographs at the bottom of Harewood Bank but our professional photographer Alan Wilson has a bad ankle, cause unknown. Or so he tells us.

And not a mention of the traffic lights. Oh, hang on…