Triangle 20 – 18th August

It’s getting close now!  The end of the 2016 Triangle Series that is, the 18th August event being the penultimate.

Another good evening greeted the riders, 15 from Otley plus eight guests, any wind certainly not as bothersome as it had been the previous week for both the 10 & 15-mile event on the A168 and the 12.5 two days later at Arthington.

Although Stephen Broadley’s lead is now unassailable, the other podium positions are still up for grabs.  Son Tom was in second place but Club Committee Chair Paul Luxton has split the Broadley’s, taking over that position by 2 points after securing 3 points on the night.  All to play for there Paul and Tom!

The maximum 6 points went to Triangle Series returnee Chris Yates.  Gill Arnett continues to improve scoring 5.  Gill, along with Rob Clulow, back after a break from riding the series and scoring 4 points, has moved up the table, both now on 9 points. James Cullen picked up 2 points, with the last available point going to Stuart Newbould.

Jon Sharpe was the fastest rider on the night with 30:46, Helen Goldthorpe fastest woman on 34:38.  Fastest of the eight guest riders was Simon Beldon with a fantastic 26:55.

Otley CC times with points in brackets.

Jon Sharpe 30:45

Chris Yates 30:47 (6)

James Cullen 31:33 (2)

Stuart Newbould 32:37 (1)

Phil Mason 33:14

Stephen Broadley 34:35

Helen Goldthorpe 34:38

Paul Luxton 35:07 (3)

Liam Mealey 35:08

Tom Broadley 35:09

Andy Bolton 36:19

Rob Clulow 36:43 (4)

Tony Wild 36:55

Sheldon Howcroft 37:33

Gill Arnett 37:40 (5)

Guest rider times.

Simon Beldon 26:55

Sam Ward 28:33

Steve Ayres 27:27

Richmond Denton 29:57

Mick Lawrence 30:01

Adrian Stott 30:05

Mark Scatchard 30:26

Andrew Lamb 32:48

Latest points standings

Stephen Broadley 45

Paul Luxton 25

Tom Broadley 23

James Cullen 20.5

John Churchman 20

Stuart Newbould 19

Gary Purchon 19

Greg Jessop 18

Ruari Waterworth 17

Tony Wild 14

Phil Mason 13.5

Andrew Bolton 13

Steve Gaunt 12

Helen Goldthorpe 12

Sheldon Howcroft 11.5

Peter Yates 11

Liz Hills 10

Tim Howcroft 10

Gill Arnett 9

Rob Clulow 9

Dean Nicholson 9

Naakesha Seth 8

Rachel Crowther 6

Tom Cullen 6

Claire Jessop 6

Gareth Metcalfe 6

Jon Sharpe 6

Christine Thwaite 6

Chris Yates 6

John Buddle 5.5

Christine Bell 5

Ian Cullen 5

Megan Cullen 5

Tony Bulmer 4

Toby Kitching 3

Liam Mealey 3

Kerri Holmes 2

Robbie Pollard 1

It’s the last 2016 event next week, Thursday 25th August, after which we’ll all retire to The Wharfedale for A Bit of a Do including something to eat, a drink, prize giving and some light hearted ribbing.