Racing 14 – April 2016. OCC riders in 25-mile TT action

Otley Cycle Club riders have been in time-trial action this weekend, riding the Yorkshire Cycling Federation (YCF) 25 on Saturday and our own 25 on Sunday.

As last weekend during the OCC 10-mile TT windy and cold conditions faced the riders although the rain did hold off (and nowhere near as bad as the conditions the pro’s experienced in Sunday’s Liege-Bastogne-Liege!).

On Saturday, Gareth Metcalffe, Claire & Greg Jessop and Peter Yates rode the YCF event. Gareth finished in 57:56, Claire in 1:08:35, Greg in 1:10:45 and Peter in 1:10:58. Eleanor Haresign of Harrogate Nova was fastest woman in 1:00:20 and Andy Jackson of SSLL Racing Team the overall winner in 50:24.  The full results can be found here.

On Sunday, Claire & Greg once again faced the timekeeper- hard cyclists these Jessops, with Claire again showing Greg the way home – along with seven other OCC riders.  Their times were:

James Cullen 1:04:34

Liam Mealey 1:07:48

Helen Goldthorpe 1:11:46

Claire Jessop 1:14:29

Greg Jessop 1:15:01

Andrew Bolton 1:16:39

Brian Whitehead was a DNF.

Eleanor Haresign of Harrogate Nova was fastest woman for the second day running in 1:04:37 and Steven Burke MBE, Team Wiggins, fastest overall in 53:05.  Helen Goldthorpe finished in the prizes for Otley recording the third fastest time in the women’s competition.  Results and Awards details attached.

Results 2016

Awards 2016

Big thanks of course to Martin Tallontire for organising.

Our next Open event is the 50 TT to be held Sunday 26th June on the V258 course near Boroughbridge, organised by James Cullen.  The TT is split into two events, a Tandem event and a Solo event.  Put it in your diary – if you don’t want to ride it James will welcome offers of help!