Racing 11 – April 2016. Otley CC Open 10-mile TT

OCC V212 16th April 2016 Results Sheets

image imageSaturday 16 April saw our Open 10-mile TT, ably organised by Greg Jessop, take place on the V212 course near Boroughbridge.  A good field of 104 riders, including 15 women (2 on the only tandem) and some first time TTers had entered but decidedly wintry conditions put a few off, a layer of snow at home understandably persuading some not to ride.

Those who were brave enough to start were greeted by cold, wet and windy conditions.

The event was won overall by professional triathlete Philip Graves riding for Clifton CC York in 20:35.  Steven Burke of Team Wiggins was second with 21:20 and Jonathan Wears, SSLL Racing Team, third in 21:49.

Fastest woman with a 25:22 was Jessica Bacon of York Cycleworks. Second was Suzie Richards, albaRosa CC, in 26:34 and third Lynn Harrison of Seacroft Wheelers in 28:37.

Joe Howcroft of VCUK PH-MAS Cycling Team was fastest junior in, coincidentally, 25:22 with Otley CC riders James Veitch and Sam Howcroft in second and third with 28:11 and 29:20 respectively.

Tandem riders Christine Bell and Rachel Crowther, in training for the Team Swift 12hour on 31st July, finished in 29:27 which may be a club record for a women-only tandem 10 TT (to be ratified).

In the team competition, the fastest mens team was Clifton CC, Michael Schofield (23:25) and Duncan Sleigh (24:05) backing Philip Graves to an overall time of 1:08:05.  Otley CC was the fastest womens team (two riders) in 59:02, Helen Goldthorpe with a 28:40 and Claire Jessop with 30:22.

The veterans competition was split into four groups.  Anthony Ashworth of Wetherby Wheelers won the 40-49 group in 23.26.  The 50-59 group was won by Carl Saint of Yorkshire Road Club in 23:21, Dave Hudson of City Road Club ( Hull ) won the 60-69 group in 25:11 and the winner of the 70+ group was Mike Williams of Team Swift in 28:09.

Full Otley CC rider results.

Gareth Metcalfe 25:24

James Cullen 26:42

Chris Yate 27:15

James Veitch 28:11

John Buddle 28:27

Stephen Broadley 28:36

Helen Goldthorpe 28:40

Sam Howcroft 29:20

Claire Jessop 30:22

Tom Broadley 30:42

Andrew Bolton 31:18

Michael Kitchen 32:02

Liz Hills 33:05

John Churchman 33:13

Gill Arnett 33:32

Trevor Hatib 33:45

Claire Hargreaves 34.42

Well done to all prize winners and to all who rode, not letting the inclement weather put them off.