Triangle 18 – 11th August

Up to the latest Triangle round – is that good English? – we’d had almost the full gamut of conditions this season with snow, sleet, rain and thankfully sun, some of those conditions all in one event!  This week, it was the turn of the wind.

The movement of the tree branches around the start gave a good indication of what was to come for the riders and most times reflected that, times being approximately 30 seconds slower.

However, nobody told one of our future stars Ruari Waterworth that, who actually went 6 seconds quicker than the previous week, earning himself the maximum 6 points.

Joint women’s club 12-hour champion Christine Bell, who said the headwind through Huby was a doddle compared to almost 12-hours of it a few weeks ago, opted for a much shorter distance this week and earned herself 5 points to enter the points standings.  Another newcomer to the points standings was Gill Arnett, right behind Christine on the night with 4 points.

Paul Luxton turned up very early, seemingly getting a good warm up to earn himself 3 points and James Cullen, recovering from back problems, picked up the 2 points.

Claire Jessop completed the trio of women’s points scorers on the night, securing the final single point on offer.

Guest riders Sam Ward and Mark Scatchard recorded 29:22 and 31:00.  Sam was actually quicker than the previous week by almost 30 seconds but this week wasn’t impeded by any slow moving traffic.  Would it have been a 28 the previous week?

All Otley CC times as follows, with points in brackets.

Jon Sharpe 30:48

Chris Yates 31:27

James Cullen 32:55 (2)

Phil Mason 34:11

Liam Mealey 34:19

Stewart Newbould 34:27

Stephen Broadley 34:59

Ruari Waterworth 35:03 (6)

Paul Luxton 35:58 (3)

Claire Jessop 36:05 (1)

Helen Goldthorpe 36:07

Tom Broadley 36:13

Greg Jessop 36:17

Andrew Bolton 37:34

Gill Arnett 38:56 (4)

Liz Hills 39:29

Christine Bell 41:56 (5)

Latest points standings

With only three events left and a maximum of 18 points on offer, Stephen Broadley can’t now be caught so is the 2016 Triangle Points Championship elect. Congratulations Stephen!

Stephen Broadley 43

Tom Broadley 23

Paul Luxton 22

John Churchman 20

Gary Purchon 19

Greg Jessop 18

Stuart Newbould 17

Ruari Waterworth 17

James Cullen 15

Tony Wild 14

Andrew Bolton 13

Steve Gaunt 12

Helen Goldthorpe 12

Sheldon Howcroft 11.5

Tim Howcroft 10

Phil Mason 10

Dean Nicholson 9

Liz Hills 8

Naakesha Seth 8

Rachel Crowther 6

Tom Cullen 6

Claire Jessop 6

Jon Sharpe 6

Christine Thwaite 6

Peter Yates 6

John Buddle 5.5

Christine Bell 5

Rob Clulow 5

Ian Cullen 5

Megan Cullen 5

Gill Arnett 4

Tony Bulmer 4

Toby Kitching 3

Liam Mealey 3

Kerri Holmes 2

Robbie Pollard 1

The next event is the 10/15 on Tuesday 16th August on the A168 near Boroughbridge. Only the 15-mile TT will count for points. Points will not be awarded for the 10-mile TT.